icon-arrow-right icon-play icon-close
HomeProjectsEast West Rail Phase 2

East West Rail Phase 2

Oxford to Bedford and Milton Keynes

VolkerRail, as part of an alliance with Network Rail, Atkins and Laing O’Rourke, has been awarded the design and construction of the East West Rail Phase 2 (EWR2) scheme.

Part of Network Rail’s Railway Upgrade Plan, this scheme will link Oxford to Bedford and Milton Keynes via Bletchley, and Milton Keynes to London Marylebone via Aylesbury.

The alliance is currently tasked with continuing the development of the outline design and the construction programme for the scheme, which will include a new station at Winslow, two new platforms at Bletchley, 18 new overbridges, 22 new footbridges or subways and changes to 97 railway crossings.

Split into two phases, the East West Rail scheme involves upgrading and reconstructing underused and mothballed sections of the railway linking the Great Western, Chiltern, West Coast and Midland main lines north of London and providing a strategic east-west route connecting key centres. It will deliver significant economic, social and environmental benefits to Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Bedfordshire.

Once complete, this work will enable increased capacity for freight services and train journeys from:

  • Oxford – Milton Keynes (calling at Oxford Parkway, Bicester, Winslow and Bletchley)
  • Oxford – Bedford (calling at Oxford Parkway, Bicester, Winslow, Bletchley, Woburn Sands and Ridgmont)
  • Milton Keynes – Aylesbury – London Marylebone (an extension of the existing service between Marylebone and Aylesbury Vale Parkway, with stops anticipated at Bletchley, Winslow, Princes Risborough and High Wycombe)

Facts and figures

  • Client
    Network Rail
  • Value
  • Duration
    Four years
  • Project categories

Learn more about this project?

Contact Stuart Birch »

Related News

More news

East West Rail installs ‘railway first’ footbridge in Bicester

An innovative and near maintenance-free footbridge has been installed in Bicester to make crossing the railway safer for...

East West Rail Alliance receives Green Apple Award

The East West Rail (EWR) Alliance, comprised of Network Rail, Atkins, Laing O’Rourke and VolkerRail, has been...